Academic Council

Following the integration of APOG and the SOGC in January 2018, the Academic Council was created to support the strategic direction and educational and research goals of the SOGC, while incorporating the mission and mandate of APOG. The members of the Academic Council include the chairs of the five ongoing APOG committees – Department Chairs Committee, Education & Innovation Committee, Postgraduate Program Directors Committee, Subspecialties Committee, and Undergraduate Committee – ensuring representation from Canadian Ob/Gyn academic departments.

The Academic Council will evolve into a national voice for women’s health research with a focus on lifelong education from the undergraduate level through to retirement. This council reports to the SOGC Board of Directors.

Current members:

Dr. Graeme Smith (Department Chairs Committee Representative) - Chair
Dr. Jon Barrett (Researcher)
Dr. Jennifer Blake (SOGC CEO)
Dr. Jocelynn Cook (SOGC CSO)
Eve Duchesne (SOGC Director, Accreditation and Education)
Dr. Wylam Faught (Royal College Specialty Committee in Obstetrics and Gynecology Chair)
Dr. Prafull Ghatage (Subspecialty Committee Chair)
Dr. Lynda Hudon (Postgraduate Program Directors Committee Chair)
Dr. Venu Jain (Undergraduate Committee Chair)
Dr. Nancy Kent (Education & Innovation Committee Chair)
Dr. Sarah Smith (Resident Representative)
Dr. Linda Stirk (SOGC President)